Monday~~Sheets and Baking Day:)

Monday’s are sheet day at my house. My schedule for cleaning used to be a lot more concrete but I’m slowly getting back on track. So I got all my cleaning done and decided to bake a little. I know today was rough the first day back after a long vacation so I thought it would be nice for them to come home to something sweet. Demetri is totally in love with this banana bread, I gave him a choice: banana bread or Madeleine’s..lol..hard choice for him. He chose banana bread so I made two loaves. I am going to share the recipe with you but first I want to give you a little back story on where I got it. My parents come from a Very small island on the Eastern Shore called Tilghman, Maryland. I think it has one stop light and is about two miles long and maybe two miles wide. Think Mayberry but smaller:) When I was little girl I used to visit during the summers and it was so much fun! On this tiny little island there was a tiny little store with a tiny little lady running it: Miss Mary McCarty. I remember her being this frail little thing that kept just about anything you could want in this little store. It was the kind of place people from the city visit and marvel at the charm and comment on the vintage appeal. Miss Mary had no need to “modernize” her store, she had what you needed: food, household supplies, toiletries and conversation. Fast forward many years to when I married my husband. My grandmother was fond of giving me recipe books for all the special occasions in my life. I didn’t know then just how important those books would become to me, I treasure them! One day I don’t know why but I decided to flip through and make my husband something special. That is how I stumbled onto the BEST banana bread recipe I’ve ever had.

Although I can’t walk into Miss Mary’s store anymore, as it is no longer there , I can flip through the pages of my cookbooks and share a baking experience with her. I think Miss Mary and her store are what’s missing from most people’s lives. Everyone needs to go home again and find something they treasure! Thank you Miss Mary for making one of my childhood memories so sweet:)

Banana Bread  Recipe: Miss Mary McCarty (Tilghman Island, Maryland)

*she actually listed it as Banana Nut Loaf*

2c flour

1c sugar

1/4lb butter

2 eggs

3 bananas ( make sure mine are good and rotten)

1tsp baking soda

1/4c nuts (I’m adding this as it is part of the original recipe but no one here likes nuts so I always omit)

Heat oven to 350

Cream butter and sugar. Add beaten eggs and mashed bananas. Sift soda and flour, add to creamed mixture. Put in a loaf pan and bake at 350 for about 40 mins.

You can use a bundt pan or cupcake tins. If I’m using a dark pan I reduce the temperature to 325 and I start out with 20:00 and carefully watch it doing 10min increments. I don’t like mine too brown…

When you make this please think of Miss Mary and what it would be like to stand in her tiny little store with worn hardwood floors, the smell of boxes and dust wafting in the air having a pleasant conversation. No where to go, nothing to rush off and do just sitting and chatting the way people used to do.

IMG_2882 IMG_2881

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

